• Navigating the Course Management Dashboard

    This article outlines how you can navigate the course management dashboard for a course in the building stage, as well as after it has been reviewed and published.

    Navigating the Course Management Dashboard for Courses in the Creation Process

    The course management dashboard acts as a step-by-step guide, which walks you through the course creation and publishing process. Tips and information are posted on each page so you have the right information for each stage. As you complete and save each section, you’ll see those items checked off on the left hand side.

    Once you have completed each section and course requirement, you will be able to submit your course for review. 

    submit_for_review.png


    Navigating the Course Management Dashboard of Published Courses

    Once your course has been published you can manage the course via the course management dashboard. To see how the course management dashboard is organized for published courses, and what sections are located where, please refer to the table below.

    We’ve outlined the navigation options and the features available in each. For additional information regarding each subsection, please click on the subsection title, and you will be directed to a relevant support article.

    Navigation Subsection
    Course Settings 
    Target Student
    Target Student
    Captions Adding Captions to Your Videos
    Curriculum 

     

    How to Add Sections, Lectures, and Video Content to Your Course

    Course Landing Page
     
    Udemy Feedback

    Course Feedback

    Test Video

    Price & Coupons Course Price
    Instructor Coupons
    Communications Announcements
    Course Messages
    Students  Student List
    Analytics Engagement Analytics
    Conversion Analytics


    If you have any other questions regarding the course management dashboard, please contact Udemy Support.

    Read Article
  • Add a Course Description

    Creating a well-written, optimized course description is one of the most important tools for converting new students into your course.

    Adding a Course Description

    1. Select your course from the Instructor Dashboard
    2. On the left hand-side, select Course Landing Page
    3. Write a course description (follow these writing guidelines) to increase your conversion
    4. Scroll to the top of the page and click Save


    clp_save.png

     

    Read Article
  • Updating Content for an Existing Lecture

    Maintaining an updated course is an important part of teaching online. Sometimes, a single lecture needs to be updated, but the lecture details can stay the same. Instead of deleting a whole lecture only to create a new one, the lecture content can be replaced.

    Uploading New Content to an Existing Lecture

    Updated content must match the existing lecture type. In other words, if the lecture was originally a video lecture, the new content must also be video. If you would like to create new lecture type, delete the lecture and create a new one.

    To update the content of an existing lecture, please follow the steps below:

    1. On the left side of the Course Management page, click Curriculum

    2. Scroll to the lecture that you wish to edit

    3. Click the black dropdown arrow on the right to view the lecture details

    4. Click Edit Content 

    edit_content.jpg

    4. Select the new content

    5. The content will finish processing automatically

    video_select.png

    Read Article
  • Describing Your Target Student

    When you create your course, the descriptions you add in the Target Student page, will help students determine if the course is right for them. In addition, the information you provide can be an effective way to capture a student's interest, and is critical for creating a rewarding student experience.

    On the Target Student page, you will be asked the following questions:

    • What knowledge & tools are required?
    • Who should take this course?
    • What will students achieve or be able to do after taking your course?

    How to Add Answers

    To add answers to the questions above, on the Target Student page, please follow the steps below:

    • From the Instructor Dashboard select your course
    • On the left-hand side of the Course Management page, click Target Student
    • Enter the necessary information
    • If required, click Add an Answer and a new line will appear
    • When you're finished adding answers each question, click Save

    target_student.png

    Moving an Answer

    If you need to move an answer, after you've created it, simply click on the triple bar icon on the right hand side, and drag the goal into a new position.

    Please note that the answer can only be moved within the section of the question it was originally created for.

     

    move_answer_icon.png

    Deleting an Answer

    If you need to delete a course goal you've entered, please follow these steps:

    • Navigate to the Target Student page
    • Move your cursor to the right of the answer you wish to delete
    • Click the trash bin icon that appears

    delete_answer.png

    Viewing Answers on the Landing Page

    Once you've added your answers on the Target Student page, they will appear in the details of the course landing page. Interested students will be able to review the information before enrolling in your course. 

    For more information on how to effectively target students, please refer to this article here.

     

    Read Article
  • Adding Resources to Lectures

    Adding resources improves the value of your course. Resources must be free, related to your lecture topic, and in no way promotional.

    Types of Resources

    Downloadable Resources

    These resources can be any filetype like .JPG, .PDF, .ZIP, .XLS, .MOV, .MP3, etc. Unfortunately, source code like .HTML, .JS, etc., cannot be uploaded directly, but these files can be uploaded in a .ZIP file. The maximum upload size for any individual file is 1 GB, but there is not a limit to the number of files you can upload. Files can be uploaded to your course directly, or added from your library using the Bulk File Uploader. 

    External Resources

    Theses resources are hyperlinks to free websites.

    Source Code

    For development courses, only Python and Ruby files can be uploaded at this time. 

    Adding Resources to a Lecture

    In order to add a resource to a lecture, you will need to create the lecture first, and add content to it. For information on how to do this, please click here. Once you're ready to add resources, then follow these steps:

    1) Navigate to the course curriculum page

    2) Click the dropdown arrow on the right hand side of the lecture

    3) Click Add Resources

    add_resources.png

    4) Select whether the resource is a Downloadable File, a Source Code or if it's being added from your library. Then, click Select File. If you're adding an External Resource, then enter the resource's title and URL.

    adding_resources_2.png 

    If you want to upload multiple resources, upload a .ZIP file for your students to download. 

    Read Article
  • Preview Course as a Student

    Previewing a course allows you to see what a student sees.

    Preview Your Course as a Student

    1. From your Instructor Dashboard click the course icon you wish to preview
    2. Navigate to the Curriculum page
    3. Click the arrow icon on the lecture you wish to preview, and then select as a Student from the Preview menu

    Note: The URL in the address bar is a temporary URL and not the public course URL.

    preview_as_student.png

    Read Article
  • Delete a Lecture

    Lectures can be edited and deleted at any time. Please remember, however, that students have lifetime access to courses. As a result, lectures should not be deleted, unless they're replaced with new and improved content.

    How to Delete a Lecture

    If you need to delete a lecture from your course, please follow the steps below:

    1. On the Curriculum page, hover your cursor to the right of the lecture title 

    2. A trashcan icon will appear to the right

    delete_lecture.jpg

    3. Click the trashcan

    4. Confirm that you wish to continue with deleting the lecture

    Please note that the lecture and its content cannot be restored once the lecture has been deleted.

    confirm_delete_lecture.jpg

     

    For steps on how to edit and update an existing lecture, please refer to our Updating Content for an Existing Lecture article. 

    Read Article